Home » Fix Your Own Life » 7 Things Black People “Don’t” Do That They Should

7 Things Black People “Don’t” Do That They Should

We’ve all heard it before “black people don’t ____” fill in the blank. Unbeknownst to me, there is a section in the guide to being black that lists the things that black people don’t do. Now, I can understand this for our protection but we’re missing out on experiencing life. So, I’ve decided to list 7 things I think black people should start doing. (I’m not saying that all black people don’t do these things but these are common ones I have seen and heard.)

Travel: I’m not sure if this is a financial issue or not. But the world is huge!! We need more black students studying abroad and more families taking vacations. And not just to Vegas or Los Angeles but to places that will broaden your horizon and let you experience another culture. There is a beautiful world out there outside of the television and your neighborhood, Go experience it.

Eat Healthy Foods: Fried chicken, potato salad, yams and greens that have been overcooked and over seasoned. Food that is fried, loaded with sugar, salt or overcooked? That is traditional soul food. I am not against good tasting food (cause we cook!) but if we want to live long healthy lives we need to find a balance.

Arrive On Time: I personally have this issue but it hit me one day. I’ve missed funerals, weddings and other important events because I didn’t manage my time well. I realized it just wasn’t worth it. If you have to start preparing for an event 2-3 hours before it starts than do it.

Swim: Ladies, this one is for us. and its usually because of our hair. I get it, oh believe me, I get it. This summer I was at the beach with my friend and laughed. She was taking selfies barely in and around the same water that she wouldn’t get into. What’s the fun if we wont get in the water we drove 2 hours to get to.

Volunteer: No one wants to work for free, Black or not. But if you find a cause that you are interested in it will be worth it. One of the best thing about volunteering is that you network and you gain experience.

Go To A Therapist: We are a very religious people, which I personally like. But we need to find the balance between religion and health. If you are depressed, suicidal, have mental health issues, its okay to go to a therapist. There are a lot of religious therapist available. Even if you are not religious there is nothing wrong with needing someone to talk to.

Go on Adventures: I have one super adventurous friends. She’s always talking about mountain climbing, hiking, sailing, sky diving. And my response was always (yes, i am guilty)  “You’re crazy, black people don’t do stuff like that”. But why not? If I don’t want to do it, it’s a personal decision, it’s not because I’m black.

We should not limit what we do it life because we are black or any other race for that fact. Be who you are and do what you want to do. Not because of whats deemed normal but in accordance to the life you want to live. Tell me what you think. Are there things that Latinos, Asians or Whites don’t do that they should?


Leave a Comment

New Episodes Begin in February!

Follow Us

TwitterPinterest Facebook EmailInstagramGoogle+Youtube
Follow The Hype TV Show on WordPress.com

Get Tix For The Hype TV Show

«

November 2017

»
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2

Instagram

Check out The Hype Tv Show Youtube page and SUBSCRIBE!!!! Tune in to our latest videos ans leave a comment we would to love to hear what you have to say. Also check out our website at www.thehypetvshow.com and continue to follow us on all social media @TheHypeTVShow
